Communication

From OrbusVR Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Local Chat

By default Voice Chat is enabled, so be sure that on your PC your Input device is set to your HMD microphone (it shows up as 'USB Device' for me). There are options in the Player Menu to disable your own voice chat, or to mute other players. The Voice Chat is proximity based, so you will hear people nearby and not hear people far away. Just talk in a normal inside voice, there's no need to shout.

Speaking at a Distance

In addition to serving as your guide to the key points of each area, the Compass will also show you the locations of all your group members (as long as they're in the same zone as you). This is also used for your "Party" and "Fellowship" voice chat. Grab the compass and hold it near your mouth, you will see the compass turn Red, this means you are broadcasting. To switch channels between the Party and Fellowship chat, simply shake the compass and it will toggle between the channels. Your compass is set to Party chat by default (Purple Stone core).

Personal Messages

You may also send written (Typed) messages in game to players on your Friends list or to players within your Fellowship. To access messages that have been sent to you open your Player Menu, and select the Messaging icon (Closed Letter). Here you will find your Inbox will all the messages you have received. To send a new message to one of your friends, open the Player Menu and select the "Social" tab (Multiple head icon). Find the player you wish to send a message to and select their name, you will see a menu appear with the option to message them. Simply type in the message you wish to send and click send. There are a few pre-written messages you may use to speed up the messaging process.

Personal Bubble

If you are feeling overwhelmed by your surroundings, or have found someone harassing you or other player, you can use the Personal Bubble feature. By pressing both Menu buttons at the same time you activate a 5 minute mute to everyone in game, there will be a small animation at your feet and a noise to signify it has worked. This will not only mute all players in game, but will also hide their hands. To discontinue use of the Personal Bubble, simply press both Menu buttons again.

Return to Main Page